Main Menu

The Post New Vice President for Research named

New Vice President for Research named

On April 11, 2023, President Taylor Randall announced at the Board of Trustees meeting this week that Dr. Erin Rothwell will be the University of Utah’s new Vice President for Research (VPR).

“Dr. Rothwell has a proven record of fostering an atmosphere of creativity and discovery that advances knowledge with integrity,” said President Randall. “Her support for campus-wide research operations, deep understanding of national research funding infrastructure and processes, and commitment to building the U’s academic and research enterprise will serve the university well as we continue to strive toward becoming a top 10 public institution.”

Dr. Rothwell will start her new working role immediately. She has served as the Interim Vice President for Research since January 2022.

Dr. Rothwell has unmatchable research leadership experience being the first VPR to serve in all AVP roles under the VPR Office. Prior to her interim role, Dr. Rothwell was the Associate Vice President for Research Integrity and Compliance in 2018 and the Associate Vice President for Research in 2020. Dr. Rothwell succeeds Dr. Andy Weyrich who currently leads the Oklahoma Medical Research Foundation.

Please click here to read the full announcement.